I didn’t really know where to start with this kiteboarding thing so I started Googling. From what I found, it was pretty standard to start with a trainer kite. The quesiton was which one?

After a few phone calls to the guys at Midwest Mountaineering and Wind Power Sports and a lot of time on Google I narrowed my options down to a few different kites. The guy at Wind Power Sports talked me into the 3 meter HQ Hydra 300. It seemed like a good fit because they said it can be used on water and land – unlike most trainers. I’ll come back to that later. I scoured the web and made a few phone calls looking for the best deal. In the end I bought from a guy in SD at Wind Power Sports. He was good to work with and shipped it quickly.

Takeaways:

  • Start with a trainer kite.
Leave a Reply

