After getting the feel of kiteskiing behind my Hydra I was hooked and had to pick up a bigger kite. I was hesitant to go to big coming from a trainer but I ordered the 2009 Best Kahoona 13.5 from Wind Power Sports. It arrivved and I headed out to Lake Josaphine in ND. The sky was cloudy with some light flurries and wind was light (9-10mph). I checked the ice and found some holes frozen over that were at least a foot deep so I figured it should be safe. Then I got my kite blown up, stretched the lines and connected everything. It took me a couple tries to get it up in the air but it was really pretty easy to launch off the snow. I moved the kite back in forth overhead for a while to get used to the pull and the fying characteristics of this kite. This is the first time I have had the kite out of the bag. 

I don’t have a lot of patience so I quickly got bored flying the kite. So I stepped into my ski bindings to get ready while keeping the kite in a neutral (overhead) position. Then I dipped the kite into the wind window and my skis started gliding across the wind-blown lake snow. The snow wasn’t real hard but blown. It almost always is in ND. Josaphine isn’t a real big lake so I was able to go from edge to edge back and forth pretty easy. I didn’t try to go up or downwind, just across it. This is where I got my first real taste of the depower bar and how to use it that made sense. I had played with it a little while body dragging but it didn’t really make sense to me until using it on the snow. This was a great experience. I didn’t go crazy and found myself using my skis to brake quite a bit so I would need to use the bar more for that but I was happy with my first attempt. The snow started moving in and I needed four wheel drive to get back in to the access of the lake so I had to cut my session a little short. It would have been nice to have someone else there to enjoy it with so if you are in ND and want to kite, let me know.

Leave a Reply

